Pet-care costs: dated prices and what they include

A useful budget starts with a price for a defined service or pack. We checked providers' own public pages on 23 September 2026. This page now contains 10 relevant price records, from an expanded set of 15 records across eight providers and retailers. These are asking prices, not invoices, endorsements or a representative survey of Singapore households.
Method and coverage
The review covers food, grooming, boarding, transport and veterinary consultations; UCO also includes litter and UDO includes puppy courses. Insurance terms and emergency care were reviewed separately because neither provides a universal annual price. Sources were chosen for publicly inspectable prices and scope. Multiple products from one seller do not count as independent market observations. No provider was contacted and no quotation form, booking or purchase was submitted.
Pack sizes, species, per-day or per-trip units, starting prices, sale prices and uncertain tax treatment stay explicit in the records below. Do not average unlike services or interpret a promotional price as a stable annual price. A broader sample still cannot establish a market average, cheapest provider or breed-specific annual cost without a defined sampling frame and usage data.
Veterinary consultations are only one part of care
The retained Atlas and Evervet examples have different definitions. Tests, medicines, vaccinations, procedures, rechecks and emergency treatment may be separate. Get an itemised estimate for the individual animal; a consultation price is not an annual veterinary budget.
Training prices
The three retained puppy group-course packages are S$436 for four one-hour sessions, S$550 for six, and S$750 for six. Dividing gives S$109, about S$91.67 and S$125 per session respectively; these derived figures are not individually bookable rates. The S$550 course advertises a January 2027 start. Check eligibility, methods, timetable and cancellation terms. The sample does not establish a typical training price.
Turn unit prices into your own scenario
For food, divide the pack price by its weight and multiply by the amount your animal actually needs. For cash budgeting, round up to whole packs and consider storage and waste. Choose the diet and feeding amount with appropriate advice; our arithmetic does not prescribe a diet or portion.
Multiply grooming prices by the agreed number of visits, boarding by chargeable days and transport by trips. Basic and full grooming are alternatives, not two charges to add for one visit. A starting price is a floor, not a guaranteed quote. Add any separately quoted extras and tax, without adding tax twice where already included.
A worked subtotal, not an annual recommendation
If a household assumes 12 of the listed 2 kg food packs, six small-dog full grooms, seven chargeable Cosy Suite days, two weekday transport trips and two Atlas consultations, the arithmetic is S$444 + S$420 + S$364 + S$100 + S$120 = S$1,448. Those quantities are illustrative assumptions, not required care frequencies or a feeding recommendation. The subtotal assumes the displayed prices remain available and excludes taxes not stated, extras, acquisition, setup, licensing, medicines, tests, insurance and emergencies. It is not a complete annual cost.
Use the calculator with your own current quotes and quantities. Existing calculator defaults and breed costs remain planning assumptions: this review does not justify replacing them with a claimed market average. Keep emergency savings separate from expected spending. An annual insurance premium is a recurring cost, not a one-time setup charge.
Insurance and emergencies: quote-dependent costs
Income Happy Tails explains that premiums depend on factors including breed, age and claims experience. Its page also lists eligibility, deductibles, co-insurance and benefit limits. A headline coverage limit is not the premium and does not mean every bill is covered. We did not obtain a personalised quotation or infer a universal annual insurance cost. Compare the full current policy, exclusions, waiting periods and your required contribution.
VES emergency care confirms a 24-hour service but the page checked did not publish a complete treatment tariff. Emergency costs depend on assessment and treatment. Contact the hospital promptly for urgent concerns and discuss costs; do not delay care while comparing routine consultation prices. No fixed emergency reserve can guarantee that every bill will fit.
Breed traits: validation result
The evidence-field audit covered all 58 published dog and 35 published cat records. No field-level mapping was recorded that validates the existing one-to-five scores. The follow-up literature review does not supply such a mapping either. We retain those numbers as clearly labelled editorial estimates, not scientific ratings, risk probabilities or guarantees about an individual animal.
- Behaviour: the 2022 UMass Chan study summary describes more than 18,000 owner surveys and more than 2,000 genetic samples. Breed explained about 9% of behavioural variation in that study. That does not mean genetics is irrelevant, nor does it validate our scores.
- Cat personality: Mikkola and colleagues' 2021 study analysed 4,316 cats. Its questionnaire was tested for reliability and validity, but its Finnish internet sample was not necessarily representative. The authors did not establish pairwise breed differences in that paper. Its factors cannot simply be converted to our affection, family-fit or apartment ratings.
- Coat and grooming: a breed source can support a descriptive coat or grooming statement. For example, the Royal Kennel Club's Affenpinscher page describes grooming more than once weekly and says the breed sheds. Neither statement proves a particular numerical grooming or shedding score.
- Heat and activity: PDSA's veterinary guidance says any dog can develop heatstroke. An editorial heat score cannot establish a safe temperature or number of walk minutes in Singapore.
- Allergies: ACAAI states that all cats and dogs produce allergens. Coat length and shedding cannot establish whether a household member will tolerate an animal. No breed is reliably allergy-free.
Profile and comparison answers now distinguish estimates from evidence. Unsupported allergy recommendations and score-derived winners have been removed from the affected breed templates. Dog profiles no longer turn a heat score into a daily walking prescription. Housing permission is checked separately from care suitability.
This completes the review of whether the current score system has support: it does not establish independent validation. It is not a veterinary review or a fact-check of every sentence in historical breed articles. A future validated score would require a defined construct, source population, instrument, uncertainty, reproducible conversion and independent review. Until then, use individual history and appropriate professional advice.
Trait-review sources
- UMass Chan research summary, 28 April 2022
- Mikkola et al., 2021: methods and section 4.3 limitations
- Royal Kennel Club: Affenpinscher breed characteristics
- PDSA: heatstroke in dogs, September 2023
- ACAAI: pet allergies
Sources inspected on 23 September 2026. Overseas research and clinical guidance do not establish Singapore population rates or local housing rules.
Source records
Checked 23 September 2026. Confirm current scope, availability and the final price before committing.
| Provider and item | Published price and unit | Scope and qualifications |
|---|---|---|
| Pet Coach SG Puppy Holistic Development, group Training | Published price S$750.00 6 one-hour group sessions | Group course; mat and treat pouch. Entry-health requirements and age suitability apply; page gives differing lower-age descriptions, so confirm before booking. Tax: Not stated on the page checked |
| Puppy Colours Little Paws, group Training | Published price S$436.00 4 one-hour group sessions | In-campus course, up to four puppies. Age and vaccination entry requirements apply; confirm eligibility. Tax: Not stated on the page checked |
| The Good Pup Puppy Foundation, group Training | Published price S$550.00 6 one-hour group sessions | Maximum four dogs, Upper Paya Lebar Road. Page advertises the next class in January 2027, not immediate availability. Tax: Not stated in the class details checked |
| Atlas Veterinary Clinic Standard consultation Veterinary consultation | Published price S$60.00 1 consultation | Appointment consultation. Tests, medicines and procedures are separate items. Not an emergency-care total. Tax: Includes 9% GST |
| Evervet Weekday consultation under 15 minutes Veterinary consultation | Published price S$42.40 1 consultation | Appointment rate. Walk-ins, weekends, longer consultations and other services have separate charges. Tax: Not stated on the page checked |
| Polypet Royal Canin Mini Adult dry dog food, 2 kg Food | Sale price S$37.00 2 kg pack | Displayed sale price; displayed regular price S$50.60. Derived unit price S$18.50/kg. Delivery and future pricing require confirmation. A price example, not a diet recommendation. Tax: Not separately stated on the page checked |
| The Waggers Den Small-dog basic grooming Grooming | From S$45.00 1 basic groom | Starting small-size rate, no haircut. Coat condition and size can change the quote. Quoting the package does not endorse every listed handling procedure. Tax: Not separately stated on the page checked |
| The Waggers Den Small-dog full grooming Grooming | Published price S$70.00 1 full groom | Small-size published tier includes a haircut; page lists two to three hours. Confirm suitability, coat condition, handling and final quote. Tax: Not separately stated on the page checked |
| Petpause Cosy Suite, one small dog Boarding | Published price S$52.00 1 dog per day | Listed 1.7 m by 1.15 m suite. Confirm billable arrival/departure days, food, care, vaccinations, peak dates and availability. Per day must not be silently treated as per night. Tax: Not separately stated on the page checked |
| Petpause Weekday transport, 10 am to 5 pm Transport | Published price S$50.00 1 trip | Excludes public holidays. Sentosa has a S$10 surcharge; other time bands differ. Two chargeable trips would be S$100 before extras. Tax: Not separately stated on the page checked |